Totally Didn’t Book Tag

Hey everyone, and welcome back to the blog! Today, I’m here with a tag that I saw over at Kaya’s blog, afictionalbookworm. This looked like fun, and I thought there was no harm in doing this. It seems relatively simple, so without further ado, let’s begin, and fair warning there may be spoilers.

Totally Didn’t Need to Have a Sequel. For this, I’m going for Warcross by Marie Lu, which is a YA science fiction duology. This follows hacker Emika Chen as she is flown to Japan to uncover scandals within the infamous worldwide video game, Warcross. I think it was just a bad move to split this into a duology, and more could have been garnered from this if it was just one book. The sequel itself fell flat, and I think the characters and plot wouldn’t have suffered as much if it wasn’t split into a duuology.

warcross

Totally Didn’t Need to Have More Than One Point of View. I’m stealing Kaya’s answer for this and saying Allegiant by Veronica Roth, which is the third and final book in the Divergent series, which is a YA dystopian. The series follows Triss, as she explores her identity in a world where the population is split into various factions to stop independent thought and action. The character, and love interest, Four is suddenly given a perspective, however, his narration is exactly like Triss’ so there is little to distinguish between them. The sudden need to have this perspective feels really off too.

allegiant

Totally Didn’t Need to Change Cover Art Through the Middle of a Series. For this, I’m going with the A Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J. Maas, which is a YA/NA fantasy that began life as a Beauty and the Beast retelling. This series is having a redesign, and if Nesta’s book follows that trend, it’s going to look really odd against the older covers on my shelves…

a court of thorns and roses cover

Totally Didn’t Need a Love Triangle. For this, I’m going with Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake, which is a YA fantasy. This series follows a set of triplet queens, who must kill each other to take the throne. Whilst I understand why there were those romance elements, they feel a little forced just to create more tension, in a series where families and loyalties are constantly tested, and murder is at the forefront of minds…

image-8

Totally Didn’t Need This Book to be Included in This Series. For this, I’ve chosen Tower of Dawn by Sarah J. Maas, which is a YA fantasy. This is the sixth book in the Throne of Glass series, and follows Chaol as he seeks the Torre Cesme to heal his shattered legs… These adventures could have been spread throughout the books, and I found it to be difficult to get through – and it isn’t a small read! Chaol and Yrene’s relationship is very paired up, which is typical of Maas. Whilst we do see more of this world, it just feels a slog.

9781408887974

Totally Didn’t Need a Cliffhanger. For this, I’ve chosen Red Seas Under Red Skies by Scott Lynch, which is the second book in the Gentleman Bastard adult fantasy series. This follows Locke Lamora and his gang as they heist their way to the top. Red Seas, however, ends on a cliffhanger that we know is going to be resolved in the third book. Whilst it is shocking, it’s quite clear that things will work out well, and ends up falling flat…

red seas under red skies

Totally Didn’t Need to Have Just One Point of View. I honestly don’t think I have an answer for this one – sorry!

Totally Didn’t Need That Much Hype. For this, I’m going with Daisy Jones and the Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid, which is an adult historical novel. This follows a fictional band, Daisy Jones and the Six – their formation, rise to success and their ultimate break up. I found this wasn’t worth the hype at all. I’ve read accounts of heavier bands, and so this felt a little bit like fanfiction to me… Sorry guys!

daisy jones

Totally Didn’t Need a Relative Book Reference e.g. how a Hunger Games fan would love Divergent. For this, I’ve chosen Nocturna by Maya Motayne, which is a YA fantasy. This follows magical face changing Finn as as she sets out to steal a magical artifact from the royal family to save her life… I’ve heard a lot of “if you liked Shades of Magic”, due to similarities in the characters and plot. Whilst Nocturna does have own voices representation for the Latinex communities, it isn’t in the same vein as Shades of Magic – to me it falls flat and there is no comparison.

img_0369

Totally Didn’t Deserve my Time. For this, I’ve chosen the Mara Dyer series by Michelle Hodkin, which is a YA urban fantasy. This follows Mara, who is in a terrible accident, can’t remember a thing, weird things are happening around her and a handsome artistic guy has an interest in her… That’s it in a nutshell. I found the series to be boring, predictable, and I definitely can’t believe I invested time in this!

mara dyer

So that’s it for the tag – I hope you enjoyed it! What are some of your answers? I’d love to know!

– ReadWriteZoe.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑