Biannual Bibliothon #7

Hey everyone, can you believe it’s the last blogging challenge of the Biannual Bibliothon? I can’t! This week has flown by and I’ve had so much fun. Thank you to everyone who has liked, commented, and followed this blog, and gotten in touch over my other social medias – links to which are in the About section!

The final challenge has been set by Reading and Other Random Stuff and it’s so different from what I’ve been doing this week. The challenge is to write a letter to a character from a book! It can be any character you want – it can be from a book you’ve read during the Bibliothon, or it can be a different character. The point is to make the letter your own – be creative!

I’m a huge Harry Potter fan, and as I woke this morning, I realised the perfect letter I could write. Something that wasn’t quite me, but would be great. During Snape’s memories in the Pensieve, in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, the tension between Lily and Petunia Evans starts to build. After Lily receives her Hogwarts letter, Petunia decides to write to Albus Dumbledore, asking if she could attend the school as well.

So without further ado, here is Petunia Evan’s letter! I hope you enjoy!

fhd011HPDT_Ariella_Paradise_001

Dear Professor Dumbledore,

My name is Petunia Evans. I am the sister of Lily Evans, and I would like to come to school with her at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. I think that I have magic, like Lily, but it hasn’t shown itself yet. My parents have said that I could be a late bloomer, but I think they are talking about flowers. Not people.

Please may I come to school with Lily, and study with you? I will try ever so hard, and I know I can do magic – it’s in my blood, it has to be. If Lily has it, why shouldn’t I? I have seen the letter that came to our house, so I know what I need to bring with me. I will save all my pocket money for the books. I can read and write well, and do sums and maths. My teachers say I’m a hard worker, that I could go far. Please won’t you see if that’s true?

One of the teachers has already come to our house to talk to Lily, but she didn’t answer any of my questions. She ignored me, but I heard a lot of what she was saying about the wizard street and the Ministry and the train to school. I don’t get travel sick, so I’m sure that I’d be able to get on the train with Lily! And I’d never get in trouble with the Ministry, I’m a good girl, I swear.

Please won’t you come to our house? I want to be part of your school so badly. I won’t let you down, I’ll be the best witch I can be. I promise.

Yours sincerely,

Petunia Evans

hptitle

If you remember the scene, you will know that Petunia was unsuccessful in attending Hogwarts, although she received a polite letter back from the Headmaster. She probably burnt the letter, or tore it up into tiny little pieces, feeling humiliated, especially after Lily and Snape had seen it.

As any Potter fan knows, Petunia developed a sort of hatred for Lily and the wizarding world, and barely spoke to her sister for years, calling her a freak on numerous occasions. When baby Harry was left on the doorstep of her married home, she allowed him to stay after seeing the familiar handwriting on the envelope and reading Dumbledore’s words.

And the rest, as they say, is history. Although, I suppose you could call it, A History of Magic.

rowling-harry-potter-mr-and-mrs-dursley

So there it is – the final Biannual Bibliothon challenge! I’ve had such a fun week – huge congratulations to the organisers on BookTube, as well as to the blogger hosts who have made this week so interesting. Thank you for sticking with me on this wild journey, and normal service shall resume shortly!

– ReadWriteZoe.

Leave a Reply

